Day 3 – 30 Day – 30 minute – Fitness Challenge

Day 3 and so far so good, I am still on track. After a late goodnight, getting out of bed for my workout prior to my midday standby was a struggle. Knowing that I have made a commitment to myself and to you and the uncertainty surrounding the rest of my day, I knew it had to be done, that it could be a case of now or never. The toughest lift of my day was getting my butt out of bed!

The plan for today was to step things up a notch. Although I didn’t complete the circuit training workout I had mentally prepared for, I did increase the duration of my yoga workout.

Sometimes I like to go to classes and other days I have my iPad on standby for situations where time is of the essence, or I am limited to the surrounds of my Hotel. As I delayed crawling out of bed and starting my yoga practice until the last minute, 11:15 am to be precise, it was modern technology to the rescue. I didn’t want to run much later than the start of my standby, just incase I had to interrupt my class with a quick call to the airport.

Yesterday I downloaded a new app, I have quite a few as I like a bit of variety. The app is called Yoga: 300 Poses and Yoga classes. It was one of the more expensive apps I have purchased (AED 22.28) but I believe worth it for the 45 different classes it provides with different areas of focus…everything from headache relief to better eyesight. You can choose from Beginner, Intermediate, Advanced, Guru, or Universal. Be warned though, the Thorough Relaxation class I took last night is labelled “Universal”. Thinking it would be light and fluffy, I was shocked that it worked it’s way up to various forms of headstands – at this point I am not that advanced. It also has a calendar feature to track your progress and a choice of languages.

Todays yoga lesson lasted for 53 minutes. It was called “Beginners Yoga For Back and Abs”, a strengthening set benefiting the back and abdominal muscles. My goal achieved, plus a little more. If there is any lesson that I have learnt from this mornings experience is to practice yoga on an empty stomach. This is the best time for yoga practice, and it is a good idea to allow the digestion of a meal to be done before practicing yoga, so leave 2-4 hours between your meal and yoga practice. Yoga before breakfast is an ideal option, not so great on a full stomach.

Tomorrow I am locked into my personal training session, the start of what will become an intense 30min weekly visit as opposed to an hour fortnightly. I’ll let you know how that goes then…if I can still type ;-)

I am going to leave you tonight with a snapshot of this evenings dinner and a quote inspired by todays yoga teaching.

Quinoa, black bean, kale, snow pea, avocado and pepita salad. Tossed in olive oil and lemon juice. Tasty!

Quinoa, adzuki bean, kale, snow pea, avocado and pepita salad. Tossed in olive oil and lemon juice. Tasty!

Yoga has a sly, clever way of short circuiting the mental patterns that cause anxiety. Baxter Bob

For those of you who have decided to get on-board and travel with me on this journey, send me a postcard to share your story or feel free to chat about your personal triumphs or setbacks in the comment section below.

Namaste

Leave a Reply

