Sweet ~ Black Forest Omelette

Wow, this was a pleasant surprise to the taste buds, let me tell you!! Salivating at the gills I’d say!!! I am not sure whether this is what my Personal Trainer had in mind when she told me I needed a protein, carbohydrate and healthy fat combo after my morning workout. It ticks all the boxes as far as I can see and tastes a lot better than a powdered protein, food like substance. This is definitely a much healthier take on a stock standard American style sweet pancake.
image
This was inspired by Amy Crawford of The Holistic Ingredient fame. I thought I’d let my creative juices get to work and this was the finished product. Not bad for a first attempt, even if I do say so myself! For a copy of Amy’s ebook Click here to view more details.

There are so many delectable yet healthy recipes! I highly recommend you grab a copy for enjoyable and nutritious recipe ideas!

A nice treat for breakfast in bed, at home, on your day off ~ with that someone special. Definitely not something I would recommend, packed in your Delsey! ;-)

Sweet~Black Forest Omelette

    • 2 free range, organic, eggs
    • 1 heaped dessert spoon of fresh desiccated coconut
    • 1 teaspoon of milled organic flaxseed, sunflower and pumpkin seeds

image

  • 1 dash of coconut nectar to taste
  • 1 pinch of cinnamon
  • 1 heaped tsp of sifted cacao powder
  • 1 heaped dessert spoon of organic Greek style goats milk yoghurt or Co Yo (today I used organic vanilla flavoured cows milk yoghurt, as I didn’t have to resources to go with the recommended products)
  • 1/3 cup of frozen organic Black Forest berries
  • 1 tablespoon of water
  • 1 tsp coconut butter

Putting it together

  • Place the berries in a small saucepan with a dash of water and heat over medium heat until defrosted.
  • Lightly beat eggs with water in a small bowl.
  • Gently stir in the cinnamon, cacao, coconut, nectar and milled flaxseed, sunflower and pumpkin seed mix.
  • Once the eggs are ready, heat the coconut oil in a non-stick fry pan over a high heat.
  • Pour the mixture in and tilt pan so eggs cover base.
  • Cook for two minutes or until the mixture just begins to set.
  • Separate the berries from the liquid and place the berries in an even layer on top of the egg mixture.
  • Continue to cook over a medium heat until omelette has set.
  • Drizzle over yoghurt and fold omelette in half and serve onto plate immediately.
  • Garnish with a dollop of yoghurt, leftover berry juice and a sprig of fresh mint.

Grab a fork and dig in!

The vanilla flavoured yoghurt actually complemented this quite nicely. You could almost call it a breakfast dessert, although without all the highly processed sugar and crapola!

Low fat normally means chemical shit storm and extra sugar. This wouldn't be my first choice as far as yoghurt goes and I would definitely recommend a full fat option as a preference. Today I had to go with the best choice available.

Low fat normally means chemical shit storm and extra sugar. This wouldn’t be my first choice as far as yoghurt goes and I would definitely recommend a full fat option as a preference. Today I had to go with the best choice available.

Leave a Reply

